skip to content
Advancing Community wellness in the Coachella Valley


The Desert Healthcare District consists of seven zones covering the Coachella Valley. Each zone has a population of about 60,000 residents, and is represented by a Director on the Desert Healthcare District and Foundation Board. On Oct. 22, 2019, the Board unanimously approved the "Cholla 2" map, completing a public process that began in early 2019 to redraw the District and include the newly annexed area east of Cook Street.

DHCD Adopted Zones Map 2019

To find out which zone you live in, take a closer look at the District using our interactive map

Why rezone?

In 2018, prompted by a growing requirement for California’s special districts, municipalities and other government agencies to improve diverse representation, the Desert Healthcare District took on a zoning process that included multiple public hearings and map presentations. A five-zone map was approved that summer, moving the District from at-large to zone-based Board member elections. Following voters’ approval in November 2018 to expand the District east of Cook Street, a rezoning process got underway to create seven zones covering the entire Coachella Valley.  The District expects to undergo rezoning again in 2021 based on the results of the 2020 U.S. Census.

Below are maps created and presented by National Demographic Corporation starting in April.  

NDC Agave Map 

NDC Agave 2 Map

NDC Cholla Map 

NDC Cholla 2 Map 

NDC Yucca Map

NDC Mesquite Map

NDC Zone Descriptions 


In late June 2018, the Board completed the zoning process to create five zones.

Orange 2 Map (Adopted June 26, 2018)

Orange 2 Demographics