skip to content
Advancing Community wellness in the Coachella Valley

Meet our new 7-member Board

DHCH New 7 member Board

The Desert Healthcare District and Foundation recently completed one of the most important requirements of expanding its boundaries: increasing its Board from five to seven Directors. Serving as a Board Director is an elected office, though some are appointed in special circumstances.

Since the November 2018 election, in which Coachella Valley voters overwhelmingly approved extending the District east of Cook Street, the Board has welcomed three new Directors. Community health worker Evett PerezGil of Cathedral City was voted into office in November. She was sworn in with re-elected incumbent Carole Rogers of Desert Hot Springs at the December Board meeting.

And in January, the Board appointed two Directors from among 13 interviewees representing the newly annexed area. Leticia De Lara is a nonprofit CEO whose Board term ends in 2020. Karen Borja is a community affairs director appointed to serve through 2022. Both live in Indio.

 Desert Healthcare District and Foundation Board

Jennifer Wortham, DrPH, Board President

Les Zendle, MD, Vice President

Mark Matthews, Treasurer

Carole Rogers, RN

Evett PerezGil

Karen Borja

Leticia De Lara, MPA 

Learn more about the Directors here.

For additional information, contact Board Relations Officer Andrea Hayles